February 2, 2010

  • My Superman is Hurt...

    Growing up I always thought of my dad as Superman -tough, silent, strong, never gets sick or hurt. I only remember my dad getting sick once when I was 8, and man he was such a trooper.

    He didn't tell any of us he was sick and went about his day like normal. It was a Wednesday, so that evening he preached at our weekly Wednesday night service. When he finished his message he almost collapsed. Turned out he had a fever of 104 and was burning up and extremely weak.  The whole time he never complained or thought to cancel service being that sick.

    This past Sunday after church, I checked my phone and saw that I missed 5 calls from my mom. My heart skipped a beat because I realized something must have been pretty serious for her to call me that many times when she knows we're at church.

    When I called my mom back she told me that my dad was having strange chest pains and to be safe they went to the ER. He had to stay overnight for observation and for a coronary catherization in the morning.

    The next morning the tests detected two blocked arteries and several arteries 30-40 percent blocked. The doctor said it was good thing my dad came in to get checked out. So many people ignore chest pains and end up having heart attacks.

    This morning my dad had several stents put in to unblock the arteries. He's still in the hospital but should be able to go home tomorrow night.

    I'm so grateful that this problem was caught in time and my dad is going to get better. I'm so thankful that my parents went to the hospital and got checked out. I'm thankful for all the prayers from friends and family that covered my dad as he went through each procedure. I'm especially thankful that my dad is still here with us. Nothing makes you more grateful for what you have, than when you almost lose it.


    My dad wearing the workout shirt, shorts and socks we bought him this Christmas. He wanted to "upgrade" his gear.

Comments (10)

  • Rubi~ I'm glad that they were able to take care of your father in time! I know how scary it can be to have something like that happen to a loved one. Praying for your dad for a full recovery. 

  • OMG!!!!! that's such a moksanim thing to do... preach first and collapse later...  i am definitely praying for your dad's full recovery!!!! thank goodness your mom made him go to the hospital.

  • @sunahssi - Hi Sunah! I like it you meant Eugy? ;) Thanks for your prayers! Are you back in Korea now?

  • @YoOnxKyUnG - Yes, you know all about the crazy determinedness of a pastor! Thanks for praying for my dad! I appreciate it so much. Hope this week you're doing well!

  • Oh! my goodness, lol, sorry! I totally meant Eugy, hehe. That's what happens when I try to multitask on the internet.^^ Anyway, I am indeed back in Korea! I'm definitely not loving this weather at the moment, but otherwise am doing fine. 

    Love ya! Take care~

  • Wow, thank God that he went to the hospital. I hope he slows down and doesn't stress out and enjoys life cause he seems like his weight and body type are in good control.

  • Hey Eug!  Wow, thank God your dad is ok and praise God that they went to the ER - so many people ignore telltale signs - by the way, your dad looks SO young!! 

  • I didn't read this till today - oh my goodness, that must have been scary for your family! I am so glad your dad went to the ER and they treated him in a timely manner!! I hope he is recovering well.

  • @anna804 - Thanks Anna! I'll let my dad know you thought he looked young. It'll make him so happy. :)

  • @Sehsun - It was definitely a nerve-racking week but we're sooo thankful he's going to be ok. He's at home now resting and doing much better. Thanks Iris!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment