Month: February 2010

  • Blizzard?!

    I normally sleep like a rock but for some reason I have insomnia today. Maybe it's because of the excitement from the "Blizzard"!??  Actually, I don't think that's it but I thought it was kinda neat to see the above weather report.

    Ohhh all the things that amuse this Florida gal.

    Today all the schools in NYC are closed. I heard that it's extremely rare for NYC kids to get snow days. You'd think that NYC would get tons of snow but actually since we've lived in the area the past 4 years, the most snow I've ever seen is about 6 inches on the ground (when we lived in Palisades Park, NJ) and about 2 inches in the city. The snow in NYC either melts super fast or is cleaned up within a few hours of falling so you never see huge piles of it, except at the parks.

    Snow is still a crazy, new phenomenon to me even after experiencing 5 real winters (1 year in Korea, 4 here). Is it this way for other folks from sunny, warm places? I know blizzards are bad things and cause all kinds of havoc but I'm kind of excited by the thought of stepping outside of my apt (after things have settled down) and encountering a world of white wonder or a winter wonderland (hahah, ok that sounds super cheesy, sorry!).

    I've never built a snow man so I'm hoping to get a chance to get to the park and build one this week. This is an activity I will be doing alone, as the hubs hates snow. I guess if I spent two years in the military in the snowiest place in Korea I would hate snow too.

    Ok folks in the Northeast -I hope everyone stays safe and warm. You folks in warm, sunny places pray for us, it's predicted to be a wild one!

    -Edit- The snow hitting our window sounds like little crunchies or pop rocks! Shingihae!

  • Restaurant Winter 2010!

    Restaurant Week just concluded and just like previous RW's we were able to try a fancy, schmancy place without breaking the bank.  In the past four years we've enjoyed RW visits to Craft (food photos near the bottom), Le Cirque, Asia de Cuba and Eleven Madison Park. If it wasn't for RW we'd never be able to try these places. Usually a three-course dinner at these restaurants could easily cost around $100 with tip and tax. But during RW dinner is $35 and lunch is $24.

    Two weeks ago we decided to check out A Voce (Columbus Circle) for lunch.  Our good friends James & Christine recently went there and said everything was delicious, so I was super excited about checking it out. We live pretty close to Columbus Circle, and since the day was so nice we decided to walk to the restaurant.

    Here's my photo post of our lunch:

    On the way, we passed the Lincoln Center and saw they were putting some sort of advertisement on the steps.


    The slogan flashed by on the underside of each step. Pretty cool!


    Entry way of A Voce, located in the Time Warner Bldg


    The view of Columbus Circle and South Central Park from our table


    Crusty foccacia bread w/ricotta cheese & olive oil spread (I forgot to shoot the food in macro mode so the images are kinda fuzzy)
    Continue reading

  • Korean Cooking...

    During my year as an exchange student in Korea, I ate Korean food to my heart's (and stomach's) content. Growing up, we weren't exposed to many kinds of Korean food. A typical dinner at my house was rice, a veggie dish (like broccoli), chicken or fish dish and a side of kimchi. (I can't live without kimchi!).

    I never had dduk bokki until college, when one of my roommates made it for me. And I'd never heard of things like soondae (blood intestines), jipo (dried filefish) or galbi jeem (these are all things I LOVE now) until I was 21 or so.

    So the year I spent in Korea opened up a whole new world of cuisine and delicious eats! The funny thing is, even though I ate soooo much in Korea, I weighed the lightest (of my adult life) during that time. I think it's because I had no car and did a lot of walking. Also, living in a dorm at the very back of campus on the side of a mountain probably helped.  The walk to my room was killer -straight up hill and up 5 flights of stairs!

    When I got back from Korea I started to cook Korean food at home. I found two Korean cookbooks written in English but they were terrible and the measurements always seemed off. To cope I would find the same dish in both books and come up with my own recipe based off both books. There was a lot of trial and error going on!

    One day I was googling random Korean recipes and came across koreancooking.xanga.com.  I was sooo thrilled! All the recipes were so easy to understand and in US measurements! (This is another awesome site Bee created. I found this site first and then came across Bee's wedding site). I learned how to make miyuk gook, galbi jjim, spam musubi and kimchi gook from this site. Also, I would use the site as a reference for other dishes I sorta knew how to make but needed confirmation on ingredients and quantities.

    When Suseok oppa came back to the US he brought me 3 awesome Korean cookbooks. Literally translated they are "Making Side Dishes for 500 won," "Making Soups and Stews for 1,000 won," and "Setting the Table for 2,000 won."

    My Korean isn't very good by any means but the books have step by step images and the directions are very easy to understand for beginning Korean readers. The great thing about the recipes is that all the ingredients are easy to find and for the majority of the recipes you don't ever have to step foot into a Korean grocery store.  Oppa and I have made tons of the recipes in these books and so far everything has come out tasty. Today we used the side dish book and made Busans-style seafood pancakes. Continue reading

  • Blogs I Regularly Stalk...err I Mean Visit


    We bought this poster because it describes me and oppa so well!

    Working for a web company, I've come across so many awesome blogs. I've also met some really cool bloggers. I probably regularly read over 400 or so blogs but I wanted to share the ones I'm currently really into.

    In no particular order:

    -Shim and Sons: Sally is a super talented designer of handmade goods/stationery and mom of two adorable boys from Portland, OR. I've been reading her blog for about 3 years now and love her posts on wonderful things she makes for her boys and for her online shoppe.

    -Ask a Korean!: I'm not sure how I found this blog, but about six months ago I stumbled upon it have been hooked ever since. Just like the name of the blog implies, folks email the blogger (a 1.5 generation Korean-American, he came to the states when he was 16 and speaks Korean and English fluently) all sorts of questions related to Korea -language, politics, culture, economics, etc. The Korean (as he refers to himself) answers them in his delightfully smirky and knowledgeable way (often times in 3rd person).

    -The Shooting Allens: I used to follow Holly's home design blog but when she and her hubby Tripper successfully got pregnant with twins via IVF she switched to blogging about her journey with her beautiful baby boys. I love reading her daily updates on her boys and the crazy tales of how she tries to balance being a wife, mom, designer and full time employee. She's also a Southern gal and has wonderful taste in design.  Continue reading

  • So Tired but So Happy...

    This week has been pretty hectic with all sorts of meetings and things going on at work and at home. However, no matter how hectic life gets it's the best when I get to catch up with a good friend. I caught up with one my besties tonight. We tried to catch up as much as we could in the time we had. I love having marathon convos with her, but usually my phone dies before we can finish.
    This week I also got to hear from two other good friends. Pretty soon I'll get to see them both in NYC, and I'm sure we'll get to do even more catching up and hanging out. One of them is even moving to the city very soon!

    Hopefully when the weather gets warmer more friends will come by and visit as well. Also this summer one of my oldest friends is moving on up. I'm so excited to have more close friends from home in the city with us!

    This year we feel more at home and at ease in the city than ever. We've met so many wonderful people here. Our relationships are growing, and we're so blessed by their friendship.  Old and new friends alike, I'm thankful for them all!

    Oldskool Get Together in Orlando Christmas 2009
     

    Small Group Potluck and White Elephant Gift Exchange Christmas 2009
  • I'm Turning into an Ajumma...

    And I LOVE it! After I we got back from Korea at the end of last summer, I started to embrace the inevitable. The ajummaness (for the non Koreans- ajumma is what we call older, usually married women) in me. It started to come out in bits here and there:

    • coupons/discounts give me so much joy (the 20% off Bed Bath & Beyond coupon is the most coveted)
    • cookware excites me
    • I'm constantly thinking of ways to hook up my single friends (with each other) keke
    • I say "aigoo" and "ohmona" way too much (and recently started to clap my hands at the same time)

    When these little ajumma bits come out of me here and there, it always makes my friends laugh and catches some off guard. When I went home for Christmas, Peter commented on this change in me. He said something like "Ummm....Noona, you are such an ajumma." I think I replied with a thank you. hehe

    A few weeks ago I met up with some girlfriends for dinner, drinks and dessert. Christine busted out her coupon organizer and we were in awe!


    Super cute Christine w/her wonderful creation

    I knew I had to have one too. I had been carrying around my coupons in a ratty envelop. So I went out to Staples a few days later and bought my own organizer and labeled the sections. This beauty only cost $4 and is super sturdy.


    Keeps my coupons organized and easily accessible

    Another fairly recent purchase that has brought me so much joy is my portable glass baking dish. Continue reading

  • My Superman is Hurt...

    Growing up I always thought of my dad as Superman -tough, silent, strong, never gets sick or hurt. I only remember my dad getting sick once when I was 8, and man he was such a trooper.

    He didn't tell any of us he was sick and went about his day like normal. It was a Wednesday, so that evening he preached at our weekly Wednesday night service. When he finished his message he almost collapsed. Turned out he had a fever of 104 and was burning up and extremely weak.  The whole time he never complained or thought to cancel service being that sick.

    This past Sunday after church, I checked my phone and saw that I missed 5 calls from my mom. My heart skipped a beat because I realized something must have been pretty serious for her to call me that many times when she knows we're at church.

    When I called my mom back she told me that my dad was having strange chest pains and to be safe they went to the ER. He had to stay overnight for observation and for a coronary catherization in the morning.

    The next morning the tests detected two blocked arteries and several arteries 30-40 percent blocked. The doctor said it was good thing my dad came in to get checked out. So many people ignore chest pains and end up having heart attacks.

    This morning my dad had several stents put in to unblock the arteries. He's still in the hospital but should be able to go home tomorrow night.

    I'm so grateful that this problem was caught in time and my dad is going to get better. I'm so thankful that my parents went to the hospital and got checked out. I'm thankful for all the prayers from friends and family that covered my dad as he went through each procedure. I'm especially thankful that my dad is still here with us. Nothing makes you more grateful for what you have, than when you almost lose it.


    My dad wearing the workout shirt, shorts and socks we bought him this Christmas. He wanted to "upgrade" his gear.
  • February Challenge...

    It's still Feb 1! I have 40 minutes left to update!

    The hubs and I have challenged each other to try and blog every day of February. 

    Can we do it? I'm not sure but I really want to try. We both love blogs and blogging but never really get the chance to update our sites very often.

    Here are the guidelines of our challenge:

    • We must try and blog every day, no excuses, barring some kind of catastrophe
    • A post is considered to be a minimum of 5 sentences (clear sentences with a point) and 1 image
    • Post for the day must be completed by 11:59 p.m.
    • Posts can be about anything but content should be original to us (not reposting something cool from another blog)

    Ok, so that's all the guidelines for now. Here's my first post! Continue reading