March 23, 2010

  • It's Official...I'm Crazy...

    Oh man, I have no idea what I just did but I'm doing it...I signed up for the Brooklyn Half Marathon on May 22!!

    My back and foot are finally completely healed. I'm so thankful to be able to walk normally and start working out again. I ended up gaining almost 10 pounds back these past two months since I couldn't exercise.  So maybe I'm punishing myself by signing up to do this half.

    Actually, a few friends asked me to do it with them. I was totally on the fence about it but then I went to cheer on some friends running the Manhattan Half this past Sunday.

    Watching all the runners go by (young, old, fit, fat, even blind!), I was totally mesmerized. I was also extremely nervous for them. We started watching them from the 2 mile marker and then took the subway down to the 13 mile marker. I wondered if all of them would finish.

    I was wearing a Gator sweatshirt that day so every Gator that passed by would yell "Go Gators!" Some even did the Gator Chomp. All those Gators that I cheered for made it to the end! My friends did too!

    I'm so inspired by their accomplishment! I can't believe they each ran for at least two hours straight. I think the high of seeing them finish and also the fear that's associated with running for me, is what pushed me to sign up. Suseok oppa and several friends are also going to be running it too. It'll be fun to train together.

    I want to prove to myself that I can do it too, that I'm capable of running 13.1 miles. Just blogging about this half marathon is making my heart beat faster. I have to be honest, I'm super, duper nervous but excited to push myself to a new limit.

    Will you pray for me? That I make it through the next 2 months of training and that I finish the race within 3 hours?  I would greatly appreciate it!

    Here are some more pictures from Sunday's race:


    Ethan, Jason and Sam (Jason finished in 1 hour and 53 minutes!)


    Julie finished in 2 hours and 30 min!


    "Samresa", me, "Juhnny" and oppa downtown near the finish line

Comments (16)

  • You can do it! I wish I could be there to cheer ya on!

  • You go, girl! I'll be cheering for you from here!

  • Yay! I'm so excited for you Eugy! You will do great, I know it. I was thinking about signing up too : )

  • you are CRAZY! but i am so proud of you for signing up! i so want to cheer you on.

  • That's awesome! I bet you'll be just fine.  :)

    I'm going to be signing up for something like that too. It'll either be a short race (just a few miles), or basic training. 

  • WOW!!! lol, like Natalia says, you ARE crazy!! kekeke, but really, I'm really really impressed...I'm really really envious of people who run. I see those joggers at 5 or 6 am doing their thing on the road and it always reminds me of Nike ads. I believe you can do it Eugy unni!! You have the determination it takes! Of course, be careful with your recent injuries~~ Rootin for ya!!

  • @seedsower - Thanks so much Beth for your encouragement. :) Prayers will help more than you know!

  • @MssAnne - @Natalia -  Thanks girls! I'm scared! But I'm going to try and brainwash myself into thinking positively when I run. hehe

  • @Stephanie@ireallylikefood - Stephanie you were part of the inspiration! Watching you run on Sunday was awesome! How are you feeling this week?

  • @sunahssi - I'm totally not a runner, so anyone can do this if they train (or that's what my friend the running coach tells me ;) ). Please pray for me to make it through without re-injuring myself. I'll let you know how this goes. Miss you much!

  • @Aly - That's awesome you're going to run a race too! Yay! Tell me more about it when you have time. Would love to hear how you're training. :)

    I'm running a 5K next week to prepare for the half and to feel out what a race day feels like. Hope your training is fun!

  • Woo - good luck!

  • Dang 13 miles is no joke...you can do it! Train hard eugy.

  • I hereby dub you "Eugethan".  =)

  • @captsparky - haha don't you mean Ethenia? That's what Sam calls us. hehe

  • haha that works too.  you must be a good couple if your names work both ways.  but mine's better, cuz ethan's whole name fits but it still captures the essence of your name...and you go by eugy anyways...=)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment