Month: April 2012

  • Luke is a Big Boy...

    Luke and I went to a new mom group meet up in our neighborhood yesterday morning, a first for us. While I found out Luke was pretty big for his age at his 2nd month well visit, I didn't really think much of it. 

    At the meet up I realized just how big Luke is for his age. He was the youngest baby there at 3.5 months but bigger than the oldest babies that were 5 and 6 months old. When we went around making introductions I assumed everyone else's babies were younger than Luke. :O 

    Rarely ever seeing other infants, we didn't have anyone to compare Luke to but yesterday it became very evident to me that right now Luke is humungo for his age! There was another baby born one day before Luke and she weighed 14 lbs, 3.5 lbs less than Luke.

    I think the other moms could tell I was just as shocked and quickly reassured me that there's nothing wrong with Luke's size. But I have to admit I felt a little bit self conscious about my super-sized baby. I don't ever try to overfeed Luke and always stop nursing him when he pulls away. Oh well, I guess Luke has a hearty appetite like his mom. ;)

    I doubt Luke will continue to be the biggest kid on the block as he grows, he is Asian after all, but for now he has the distinction of being the biggest baby in the group. That's my boy!

    Anyways, once I got past the surprise of Luke's size we had a good time at the meet up. Luke totally charmed the ladies in the group with his killer smiles and giggling. It was his first time interacting with other people his age (at the birth class reunion he was oblivious of the other babies). It was so adorable to see the babies making eye contact with each other and smiling. Luke's still working on his laugh but he will randomly let out giggles. It's the sweetest sound to my ears! 

    We sat next to a mom from the UK named Sarah and her adorable daughter Francesca. Luke was smitten! They made eye contact, he smiled, she smiled back and then he started giggling! I snapped a quick photo on my iPhone (sorry it's blurry). 

    I'm still a total newb when it comes to these mom groups, play dates and baby activities but Luke was a natural!