Month: December 2011

  • Our Baby Story: Week Leading Up to Luke's Birthday

    Note to self (and anyone else reading): I blogged detailed updates each day leading up to Luke's birth and kept this post privatized until 3 months after Luke was born. 

    37 Weeks! My big, baby belly!

    Thursday, Dec 8 2011

    Went to see Dr. Lieu for a regular checkup appt. Found out I gained 8 pounds (212) since my last appt!!! 8 pounds in 1.5 weeks?!?!? How that happened I have no idea but that was definitely alarming to me and Dr. Lieu. 

    On top of that my blood pressure was 145/90, which was definitely the highest it's ever been. Usually I'm between 110/70 to 120/80 so this was definitely not good news. 

    In addition to the weight gain and high blood pressure, my legs were swollen like an elephants so this was enough for Dr. Lieu to send me straight to St Luke's for bloodwork for preeclampsia. :(

    Good news from the appt -Pumpkin's heartbeat was steady and in good range, and I am already 2-3 centimeters dialated! :) Woohoo!

    I had to head straight to St Luke's Labor and Delivery on the 12th floor via taxi. After another urine sample, several vials of blood and 3 hours of waiting while being monitored on a bed (1 monitors was for Pumpkin's heartbeat and the other was to see if I was having any contractions -which I was, but very light!) they told me all the tests came back negative and I could leave! So very thankful that nothing was seriously wrong! Praise God! 

    As excited as we are to meet Pumpkin we definitely need some more time to get ready. :P  

    After the hospital, we had to go straight to Gabrien and Rusan's for Gabrien's birthday potluck. It was a fun night with good friends! While at their apt I used the bathroom and encountered "bloody show" when I wiped! :P One of the signs of impending labor! I was excited but stayed calm as everything I'd read about this sign said that there was no indication that this would mean the baby was coming right away.

    I told oppa about it and we both realized that the baby may make his appearance sooner than we thought!

    When we got home I immediately packed my hospital bag and made a list of things I need to get done this weekend/asap!

    Plan "Get Ready for Pumpkin!" is in full swing!!  Continue reading